Skip to content

Legacy Lovin’ Fridays

February 18, 2011

As I write this nestled in my bed after a fun night of EDH/Commander and schooling reanimator and dredge decks with a landstill deck I threw together today (Thursday night still). I am pleased to see that when I logged onto Starcity Games there was some serious Legacy and Vintage lovin’ going on today.

First off there was some great articles written by Drew Lavin and Josh Rayden who I am having a complete love affair with their writing and information. It’s like being a little kid in the candy store.

As I previously mentioned I played some EDH/Commander today at OMG! Games here in Barrie, Ontario. And play tested with my two friends in some legacy match up’s with a landstill deck I threw together Thursday afternoon. Now I am not a person to gloat over wins or losses, but it was nice kicking their asses.

I have been tinkering with ideas legacy wise for the last little while. Like every other magic player on the planet, I have stacks of basic lands laying around the game room (while I am sure not every magic player has a gaming room, we do in this household.) So while I was sitting around this afternoon I pulled out 57 Basic Land – Mountains, and 3 Islands. and I proxied up a deck, Originally I got the deck list from MTG Salvations forum, as I never really knew what was in a landstill deck, I figured there would be a good place to start. After about an hour of reading I finally came across a list I really liked.

It was posted by user IMorphling89 his/her deck list was for Blue White Counterbalance Landstill.

4 Flooded Strand
2 Polluted Delta
3 Island
4 Tundra
2 Hallowed Fountain
4 Mishra’s Factory
2 Mutavault
2 Wasteland
4 Force of Will
4 Brainstorm
3 Enlightened Tutor
3 Sensei’s Divining Top
4 Swords to Plowshares
1 Path to Exile
2 Spell Snare
2 Spell Pierce
3 Counterspell
3 Counterbalance
4 Standstill
1 Humility
1 Oblivion Ring
1 Future Sight
1 Crucible of Worlds

Looking over the deck it seems to be a real solid build. However like most thing there are always some tweaks that can be made. So I sat back and looked at the list over and over again in my mind. I knew what cards I wanted to keep, and what cards I was iffy about. Now as I said earlier, I only built this deck in proxy form because quiet frankly I am not going to rip apart other decks I use to go against a deck which is a big investment cash wise. and since the deck will only be used to play test with my friends so they get a broader scope of the metagame. I wanted to build the biggest dick deck I could.

here is my modified deck list:

U/W Counterbalance Landstill Deck
4 Flooded Strand
2 Polluted Delta
3 Island
4 Tundra
2 Hallowed Fountain
4 Mishra’s Factory
2 Mutavault
2 Wasteland
3 Rishadan Port
1 The Tabernacle at Pendrell Vale

4 Force of Will
4 Brainstorm
3 Enlightened Tutor
3 Sensei’s Divining Top
4 Swords to Plowshares
1 Path to Exile
2 Spell Snare
2 Spell Pierce
3 Counterbalance
4 Standstill
1 Humility
1 Oblivion Ring
1 Crucible of Worlds

As you can see from the cards I added, and removed I feel I got a more control aspect of it. I would rather ditch 3 counter spells, and add the tabernacle and ports for a lock down then removing a spell I know I can deal with other ways. but perhaps that is just me. (leave a comment and let me know what you think)

other areas I think I would ditch tbh is remove two islands and add another wasteland and another port.

But moving on.

As I said I played against two of my buddies the first deck I went against was reanimator, I have mentioned this deck a few times in this blog, as it is one of my gems, I helped start it, and it has taken a life of its own. I now must destroy my creation, and it’s mutation.

The second deck I played against was Dredge, as well know Dredge can either go off turn on and kill you, or it stalls and needs a little time. I was able to get into heavy late game as the first land I cast was tabernacle. I don’t care how good of a player you are, Tabernacle turn one is brutal. and it was, I was able to keep the game controlled long enough to get into my wasteland and crucible of the worlds coming down, but what really screwed him was he had one land and crap load of creatures but all of them had an upkeep cost of one and I kept porting his land during his upkeep. this kept the creatures only in a defensive stance as he would need to pay the upkeep cost with zero mana. I will give him credit, he went late game trying his damn hardest to get to me, but I did what I do best in this deck stalled him until I was dominating him.

Over all I learned a lot playing this type of deck. and I think my two friends realized how much a deck can control them no matter how combo like they may be.

I know if anyone wants to donate a tabernacle to me they can I will love you forever šŸ™‚

But that’s all for now…

Happy Gaming.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

