Skip to content

Budget CounterTop & Action = New Phyrexia

March 29, 2011

A friend of mine is currently building a countertop deck for our legacy games at our local shop. I had the opportunity to play against his current build with my Green & Taxes deck, which I have extensively changed since my deck tech on the matter.

We played about 4 rounds (3 games a round) and the only time I did not win with my deck was when I didn’t have aether vial in my hand, on opening turn (which was like 2 actual games).

When we were playing since it was at the table top, we just played casually so no sideboards. (mostly because I forgot my sideboard at home sitting on the table when i packed my stuff but that doesn’t matter now) – I feel this put both of our decks at a disadvantage.

In our current local meta, there are 3 CT deck’s a combo one with thopter, an aggro one running lavamancers and goyf and land top deck that I hate personally going against. this deck that my friend is adding to the meta pool is faerie based aggro CT deck.

Now I won’t go through his build as I really didn’t think to write it down at the time, but while talking to him we discussed the budget alternative that he is working on, mostly at the moment it is the 60 dollar FoW popping up all of a sudden, and as always the manabase. So as I said he is working on a budget version, which in all intense and purposes is strictly awesome. I played a CT deck in standard years ago, and I regret offloading those cards now. but this isn’t standard so let us move on.

CounterTop Deck (Budget Edition)

so how budget can you go? well that is really dependent on you. For all intense and purposes, this deck is very very very budget.

TCGplayer: Plum – Budget CounterTop

4 Ethersworn Canonist
3 Glen Elendra Archmage
4 Brainstorm
4 Counterbalance
4 Counterspell
4 Enlightened Tutor
3 Oblivion Ring
4 Sensei’s Divining Top
2 Sword of the Meek
4 Thirst for Knowledge
3 Thopter Foundry
1 Ancient Den
2 Evolving Wilds
10 Island
3 Plains
1 Seat of the Synod
4 Terramorphic Expanse

When I look over this deck, I see two things, synergy and curve to counter ratio 12x 1 drop, 17x 2 drops, 7x 3 drops and 4x 4 drop spells.

I like this particular build of the deck, but also see how it can be modified to a more streamlined legacy build, however that really isn’t important until you have the $$$ to put for the high end cards. this deck functionality is really resilient. Regardless of it being budget or not.

this current build does two things off the top. – stops combo decks and glimpse decks cold in their tracks, and even combos off itself with the sword+thopter combo. while of course controlling the board so it can lay down its threats and keep them locked up.

over all I would say this is a very good build for alternative budget purposes. at the time later on, you can include duel lands, Force of Wills, fetch lands, wastelands etc to the build as time allows, but this deck is very playable since CT is usually a slow deck running the basic fetchlands isn’t really that big of deal.

So by now the MTG community is a buzz in twitter, facebook, and in the forums that Action is now known as New Phyrexia.

Which from a collectors standpoint now I need to start looking for pristine talismans from games day if I want the alternate symbol for it.

From → Deck Design

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

