Skip to content

2 Legit: My Life and Legacy (Green & Taxes)

April 7, 2011

Many people have started to read my blog, in the almost two months it has been officially active I have seen through my site stats that it is gaining popularity. for those of you who read it regularly I am genuinely pleased and grateful.

I wanted to take this time and opportunity to share with you who I am as a person, rather than some internet entity. As many of you may know I have been playing Magic since beta/revised, so a pretty long time in most cases. I attended university for History and Philosophy, this has really hasn’t given me a career choice of my liking whatsoever in fact it is more a less an education hobby rather than a career move.

Over the past 4 months I have been dealing with loss in my family, my aunt had passed away shortly after Christmas, and not even a month later my father has been terminally diagnosed with an unknown aliment that is killing him at rapid rate. While he has fought for ever ounce of strength in his being and is still kicking, he is slowly dying a very painful death.

If it wasn’t for a select few people in my life, my friends and the girl, I don’t think I would be able to cope with the stress involved in the laters undertaking in securing many things. They support me in a manner that I can not possible fathom and explain why. but I am forever in their debt. I can only hope one day I am able to repay them in the way they have shown me love and compassion.

I started this blog as a reasonable venting device to focus my mindset on my hobby and drown myself away from life – I have had many different types of escapism, but this is by far the safest I have ever ventured into.

I wanted to share my thoughts, ideas and values of a game that I truly love, something that brings me moments of joy either winning or losing, Magic has been a stable system in my life for a long time.

While I love playing the game, and I talk about it frequently, in fact most if not all of my friends play magic, and the ones that don’t think its nerdy and geeky, but I have met some of the nicest people as well as some of biggest pricks from this game. Don’t get me wrong with the later, some people myself included are highly competitive in this game.

I intently research many topics on a day to day basis from game theory, to deck tech and various other forms of our beloved game. but nothing brings me the greatest joy than picking up 60 cards and cracking on the shuffle.

This weekend I will be engaged in many things, from fixing a broken fence to playing at my local legacy match up on Sunday.

And this brings me to the real topic at hand in what I am going to play. This weekend I am going to play Green and Taxes a G/W variant of Death and Taxes. now I have been working on this deck for a while and it is by far the funnest deck I have played in years.

The Synergy in which my deck operates is resilient, to my local meta, from the main deck to the sideboard.

While I will never say that I haven’t lost with it yet, I have had grudge matches that were close to the button.

Here is the current build

Artifacts:
4 x Aether Vial*
2 x Umezawa’s Jitte*
1 x Sword of Fire and Ice

Creatures:
4 x Mother of Runes
4 x Qasali Pridemage
2 x Gaddock Teeg
4 x Tarmagoyf*
4 x Mangara of Corondor
4 x Knight of the Reliquary*

Spells:
4 x Swords to Plowshares*
2 x Elspeth, Knight-Errant*

Lands:
4 x Savannah
3 x Windswept Heath
1 x Wooded Foothillls
4 x Horizon Canopy
2 x Maze of Ith
3 x Karakas
2 x Forest
2 x Plains
4 x Wasteland

*denotes either foil or foreign.

With all that being said, I am looking forward to Sunday’s match ups.

Tomorrow I will be posting that delayed article about Legacy Knights, so check back for it.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Great to learn a bit more about you. Stay strong. I’ve been out from magic for a long time but enjoy reading your blog and trying to catch back up.

    • Thanks I appreciate that, if you want some serious catch up, check out starcitygames.com or channlefireball.com both have really great articles.

      • Thank you very much. I’ll check them out for sure. You are the deck master, I’m sure my ancient black rat deck is not the only one but never met anyone else mental enough to make one.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Legacy Sideboarding + My GPT « legacyinferno

Leave a Reply

