Skip to content

Legacy Caw-Blade Revisted.

April 13, 2011

On March 10th of this year, I wrote a deck challenge for myself to build a Legacy Caw-Blade deck. For all intense and purposes, the deck failed to live up to my own challenge. Where I failed miserably was not taking into consideration the metagame of Legacy.

So for the past month I have been trying to figure out how I can really utilize the format to it’s fullest potential.
By this I don’t mean the metagame, but I mean the accessibility of the cards in the card pool.

Legacy Caw Blade V 2.0.

First let us look at the creature base.

4 Squadron Hawk
4 Stoneforge Mystic

These are the real stars of the deck, they add the power you will need to fuel the flying engine that will pounce your opponents face. In my original build I had splashed green to add Tarmagoyf, I found this to be a mistake in the game testing phase, as it really relied to heavily on my graveyard which of course suddenly changed the tempo the deck.

This brings us to really the supporting cast of Caw-Blade legacy style. What I wanted here was something to give a real big screw you to my opponents.

In the first build of the deck, I had run mass removal like Wrath of God, rather than spot removal such as swords to plowsheres. Originally I had thought that the change up to mass removal would work great, and in many areas it does. especially against aggro decks. my options here were to cut it entirely or move it to the sideboard. I chose the later in this case, because of the metagame I go against. Gideon Jura, and Jace, The Mind Sculptor were also two cards that became speculative during the meta, they were answers, but they weren’t the answers you needed all the time in all events.

4 Wrath Of God**
4 Gideon Jura**
1 Jace The Mind Sculptor**
4 Tarmagoyf**

so the replacement for these cards are as follows
4 Swords to Plowsheres
3 Thorn of Amethyst
3 Engineered Explosives
2 Vendilion Clique
1 Chalice of the Void

the counter spell and sword package stays the same
4 Daze
4 Force of Will
4 Brainstorm
1 Umezawa’s Jitte
1 Sword of Fire and Ice
1 Sword of Light and Shadow

The lands however, with the elimination of green gave more room to tinker with the land base.
3 Maze of Ith
4 Flooded Strand
3 Plains
3 Island
4 Tundra
3 Karakas
4 Wasteland

Sideboard:
1 Sword of Feast and Famine
4 Standstill
4 Stifle
2 Tormod’s Crypt
3 Pithing Needle
1 Wrath of God

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

