Skip to content

Happy Hexproof Day

May 25, 2011

So there was some interesting news this week concerning M12, and one of the new Keywords, “Hexproof” which basically means Troll-shroud. La de fucking da, personally I think Troll-shroud would have been a way cooler Keyword than HexProof – It has style and character, so I am guessing there is going to be many hexproofers, in the core set because you don’t keyword something and then give fuck all with it. But we shall see in a few weeks time.

So What was new and exciting in Legacy? Well if you caught any of the open , you would have notice there was a lot of discarding going on. but one deck in particular caught my eye and that was Joe Bernal’s B/W Discard deck.

Maindeck:

Artifacts
1 Batterskull
3 Chrome Mox
2 Sensei’s Divining Top
1 Sword of Fire and Ice

Creatures
4 Dark Confidant
3 Gatekeeper of Malakir
2 Mirran Crusader
3 Stoneforge Mystic

Instants
3 Swords to Plowshares

Legendary Artifacts
1 Umezawa’s Jitte

Planeswalkers
1 Elspeth, Knight-Errant

Sorceries
3 Cabal Therapy
4 Hymn to Tourach
4 Thoughtseize
4 Vindicate

Tribal Enchantments
3 Bitterblossom

Basic Lands
1 Plains
2 Swamp

Lands
1 Godless Shrine
4 Marsh Flats
4 Scrubland
3 Verdant Catacombs
3 Wasteland

Sideboard:
1 Sword of Feast and Famine
2 Tormod’s Crypt
2 Phyrexian Revoker
2 Tidehollow Sculler
1 Mirran Crusader
1 Shriekmaw
3 Extirpate
1 Surgical Extraction
1 Swords to Plowshares
1 Elspeth, Knight-Errant

What I am loving about this deck is the Elspeth love! that just made me smile, honestly. Other than that it;s straight up hand hate and beat down – if you noticed last week, I posted a BUG deck that included one of my favorite cards Bitterblossom, and it was really awesome to see Bitterblossom in this deck. Now I haven’t played this deck (but I should slap it together and give it a run) but my general feeling towards this would be that this deck can certainly be a complete pain in the ass, if you let it get away from you.

Stoneforge package, discard outlets, Mirran Crusader, which I am surprised by to be honest, personally my choice would have been to use the Phyrexian Crusader because of the natural pros on it. But Joe Bernal’s deck really stacks up on disruption factor; Hymn to Tourach, Thoughtseize, Vindicate, and Cabal Therapy, which can be a devastating card when you think of the token generation that is involved in the deck with Elspeth and Bitterblossom, it essentially hits 8 times, and those could be such critical points in the game where you may have forgotten one was in the yard.

I was surprised with the inclusion of Chrome mox over that of Mox Diamond. which is awesome, both essentially do the same thing, and $ wise chrome is a much more viable alternative. because either way you are getting rid of a card. so that is some nice tech

Joe’s sideboard however, honestly really disappoints me, I find it is lacking on certain things, but I guess he didn’t get to 4th place without his research. but just to note the cards I am not liking are the Tidehollow Scullers, there is just something with it that goes against my being when I read over this epicness of this deck. and trust me, I don’t think many things are epic when it comes to decks, but this one here, it’s a total baller deck, which makes it perfectly legit in my books.

But yeah, I think later on today i’ll modo this up and give it shot.

Hope everyone has a their Towels today!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

