Skip to content

The Rules Nazi – Emrakul Nights, Leyline Da(ze)

July 4, 2011

Whether or not you be a Johnny, Spike, or Timmy we all know at least one person, maybe yourself included who is the rules Nazi. Or perhaps you are the guy in your playgroup (excluding certified judges) who everyone asks what are the rules for this card. And trust me, as much as, some situations may call for some tough love there is nothing more irritating than hearing a player spout bullshit to you regarding rulings on a card that you know are false, and can prove and they still say its true because they read some secret tech or some other insane brain vomit from someplace that benefits them.

I wish to relate a story to you.

The other day I was sitting outside with a very good friend of mine, we were talking about some recent Legacy matches we had and I was telling him about my upcoming manadeprived article. He was relating a story about going against a Grindstone/43 land deck who had sideboarded Leyline of The Void against his elves because he runs Emrakul, The Aeons Torn. I had simply replied to him, well that sucks that totally bones your deck. To which my friend reply well not really, I get to choose whether or not Emrakul gets exiled with Leyline of the Void. and I just looked at him with a dumbfounded grimace and asked for his explanation.

While I can’t quote word for word of his statement I can paraphrase it. Basically what it boiled down too was if Emrakul is in your library, or even discarded to your graveyard while Leyline of the Void is in play, you have the choice to shuffle him before he even hits the graveyard because he never hits. He then used an explanation that the Judge at the event agreed with him.

At this point in time, I asked who Judged the event, Once I got my answer I rolled my eyes, as I myself have had arguments with this judge both on and off of events. Even his interpretation of clearly written oracle wording, or rulings is grossly misconducted. In fact I honestly think he is the worst judge I have ever come across. Just because you are judge doesn’t mean you actually know what the hell you’re talking about. (sorry judges, I respect you as much as I need too, and some of you are damn good, but there are just as many who suck and need to get their heads examined)

moving on, so I said to my friend well that’s impossible, because Emrakul, has to hit the graveyard for his ability to shuffle back to trigger, and with Leyline of the Void in play, the Graveyard is essentially replaced to the exiled zone as when a card is lost or discard due to whatever reason, it doesn’t see the graveyard it just is exiled. In fact the rulings on Leyline are clear here:

Leyline of the Void’s second ability prevents cards from ever reaching your opponents’ graveyards. Abilities that would trigger when those cards are put into an opponent’s graveyard (such as Hoarding Dragon’s last ability) won’t trigger.

The card never hits the graveyard, so you can’t simply choose to ignore the effects of a card because you would be milled out. And my friend just shook his head well you’re wrong the judge said it was fine and worked, the judge made the call and I won.

this is also the same judge who told me that wrath effects don’t work on Progenitus because he has protection from everything.

Personally I would totally call bullshit on this entire scenario especially during a match? I don’t know I just didn’t bother getting into a heated debate about it. I know personally that both my Friend and that Judge are completely wrong. but I guess that is the gambit we play when we play games, someone always wants to bend the rules to their advantage.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

