Skip to content

Mono Green Control – Part Two

July 7, 2011

Hey welcome back, well after a night of sorting through cards and thinking I have eliminated my selection to cards I want to build in the deck.

First let us take a look at the lands.

The obvious choices for lands are as follows.

4 Wasteland
4 Mishra’s Factory
4 Tranquil Ticket
8 Forest
4 Misty Rainforest

Legacy players tend to be allergic to lands a good percentage of the time, I felt that the inclusion of 24 lands is a nice ideal size for a Green Control. Four fetchlands round out the package as an extra fetches along with Skaru Tribe Elder.

So let’s move onto controlling the board. This was a much harder choice card wise, I wanted to be able to keep a nice steady lock down and deal with threats, and give myself a little card advantage.

4 Beast Within
4 Winter’s Grasp
4 Root Maze
3 Tangle Wire
3 Thorn of Amethyst
2 Slyvan Library

Creatures are an essential part of this deck as well, my choices came down to a few selections 1) What can I get into my graveyard that will my ramp. 2) What do I have to deal with threats I can’t other wise contain without a removal spell. 3) what fatties make the most impact in green? after determining my selections I opted for Goyf, and Hellkite to give me a fattie and flying advantage. and of course the tribe elder for fetch and mana ramp.

4 Skura Tribe Elder
4 Taramagoyf
4 Steel Hellkite

One addition to the deck that I didn’t think of until earlier tonight was Wordly Tutor, the one Green mana instant that fetches a creature from my library

4 Worldly Tutor

So now that deck construction is completed. It is time to assemble a viable sideboard.

Going over my meta I realize that the percentages have changed. Decks I am most likely to face are Elves, Goblins, Cheerios, Show and Tell, Dredge, Reanimator, Imperial Painter, 43 Lands, Landstill, Merfolk and Team America.

So what can stop elves, goblins, cheerios and merfolk? many of these relay on the fast drops, so I think in regards to the builds I have seen Trinisphere is an ideal candidate. However Ensnaring Bridge works just as well. this adds character to 4 creatures I was including in the sideboard as well.

2 Trinisphere
3 Ensnaring Bridge
4 Wild Mongrel
3 Krosen Grip
2 Tormod’s Crypt
1 Pithing Needle

The inclusion of Wild Mongrel is kind of sneak attack tactic. let’s say for example, I have 3 City of Solitudes in my hand for whatever reason, I have one in play, I can reserve one to my hand and ditch two to increase damage. and this also protects me if i am able to ditch my hand to activate the bridge. I think it is a worthwhile maneuver. Crypts for the obvious grave yard manipulation. grips of course, and Needle for that something nasty you just don’t want to hit you or them to abuse.

Part Three tomorrow. Play testing it!

From → Deck Design

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment